Hey! This is from a writing prompt I just saw on Pinterest. The prompt was “Write as a character reflecting on a tragic event that changed their life.”

This is what I came up with.


 

It’s funny, isn’t it?

How the entire course of your life can change in the blink of an eye?

Actually, I think it’s more tragic than funny.

Because unless you have an impossible amount of luck, the impossible change of your life isn’t likely to be all that good.

For example, when I was eight years old, I wanted to go get a picture with dear old Saint Nick at the mall near my house. After hours of begging, my father finally obliged and took me to the mall.

Everything went fairly well. We sang along to Christmas music on the way and when we finally got to the mall, the line to see Santa was shockingly short. Other than my hair being absolutely terrible in that photo, the trip seemed to be a success.

Until the drive home.

That’s when the blizzard hit.

The roads were slippery and the snow was so thick in the air you couldn’t see what was in front of you.

I suppose the crash was unavoidable.

The car spun over upside down and my dad was killed instantly.

It happened in the blink of an eye.

And nothing was the same ever again.


I literally wrote that in five minutes.

What am I doing with my life?

-S

