This is probably the strangest thing I’ve ever written…

Let me explain.

I googled ‘Christmas short story prompts” and this is what I found.

“Personify your Christmas tree. Write a story from the Christmas tree’s point of view.”

I tried.

I failed.

I’m sorry


When it is Christmas, I am brought out and decorated for all to admire.

It is honestly a bit stressful.

I mean, how would you feel if you were hidden away all year, and when you are brought into the light, you are the center of attention.

It’s quite violating.

All the people cover me it scratchy tinsel and heavy ornaments.

Then, to make it worse, they make me stand guard over wrapped boxes.

The people give me more responsibility than ten trees can handle, let alone just me!

And they don’t even reward me for all my hard work after!

They take off all the bits and baubles and stick me in the closet for another year!

Oh well, I guess I shouldn’t complain.

That’s what you get for being a Christmas tree.


This doesn’t deserve an outro.

-S

