He stared at me with cold and lifeless eyes, “You have no idea who I am, do you?”

“If I did, I probably wouldn’t be here. But you knew that. You’re clever.”

He smirked, “Funny, when we were children you said that you were the clever one. You said I was stupid.”

I started to panic, “No. I’ve never seen you before. I would remember.”

He reached forward and place his hand on my cheek. I flinched back at the contact.

He laughed and ran his hand through his dark curls, “Look at my eyes.”

“Why?”

“Just do it?”

I stared into his eyes with a vengeance.

“Oh Maya, don’t you understand?”

I shook my head.

“How sad. You don’t recognize your big brother.”

My mind rushed a million miles a second as I searched my mind, trying to remember this monster who called himself my brother.

It couldn’t be true.

I was an only child.

“You know, sis, you weren’t that young when I was sent away. I’m shocked you don’t remember me.”

“It’s impossible”, I picked at my nails, desperate to distract myself from the situation, “I don’t have any siblings. Mom and Dad would have told me about you.”

“No they wouldn’t.”

“Why?”

“Because I’m despicable.”


There’s a preview of a story I’m working on that should be up soon. This is, I guess, the prologue.

-S

